Eternal Flame - Salute to our Veterans

Douglas County Courthouse at nightAbout

The Eternal Flame is located in front of the Douglas County Courthouse in the Court of Honor. It exists to honor the Veterans of Douglas County who gave the Supreme Sacrifice in defense of our Country, and its inscription states that it is "dedicated to the Glory of God and to the Veterans of all Wars".

The Eternal Flame is a natural gas flame that is kept lit by an automatic ignitor. It is lit 24 hours per day, 365 days a year, and is known as the "Flame of Freedom".

At the base of the Eternal Flame are bronze plaques that list the names of Douglas County citizens who gave their lives in the defense of freedom.

Names of Douglas County Citizens Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice for Freedom

World War I

  • Alton Kennedy Brittain
  • Frank Parks Dorris
  • Theodore William Farmer
  • James Franklin Martin

World War II

  • Dennis Aderhold
  • Dennis Barfield
  • Donald Barrett
  • Gerald Bullock
  • Oliver Brown
  • Henley Camp
  • Francis Collins
  • Quinton Collins
  • Ralph Daniell
  • Edward O. Ergle
  • Arnold Evans
  • Alton Feltman
  • William Fowler
  • Velvin Holland
  • Leonard Hudson
  • Sam S Johnston
  • James E Lee
  • Pat McGuirk
  • Ralph Morris
  • William Morris
  • Milliard Price
  • Isaac Rainwater
  • Frank Tyson


  • James D. Bishop
  • Robert A. Marks
  • Thomas L. Parker
  • Herbert L. Roberts
  • Charlie V. Smith
  • Wesley F. Smith
  • Monroe B. Willoughby


  • Gene Thomas Bailey
  • Herbert Eugene Belcher
  • Leon G. Holton
  • Robert Gerald Hunter
  • Brian Edward Jay
  • Melvin Johnson
  • Thurlo McClure
  • Raymond Simpson
  • Robert Paul Tidwell
  • David Beavers Wood
  • Nathan Bedford Simmons
  • Johnny Delbert Swann
  • Operation Iraqi Freedom
  • Sergeant Thomas Strickland


  • Staff Sergeant Joshua James "Josh" Bowden
  • Lance Corporal Scott "Boots" Harper